By the end of the 17th century, the Memminger family was already brewing beer here and serving it in their inns, the "Goldene Krone" and "Rotes Ross." After the fire that broke out in the old town, the houses and brewery were rebuilt in 1706/07.
The business didn't experience a real boom until 1866, when it was transferred to the Niklas family. Expansion and investments in technology allowed Niklas to rise to the top tier of Erlangen breweries. Through acquisitions, the company's premises grew to include six properties with large cellars, some of which still exist today. To raise capital, Niklas-Bräu was converted into a public limited company, the Erste Erlanger Aktienbrauerei, in 1895. Beer export remained a core business until 1914, but this changed dramatically with the First World War. In 1919, production had to be discontinued, and Henninger-Reifbräu took over the brewing quota.
Station 3 - Erste Erlanger Aktienbrauerei
before 1700-1919